Donate Now

National STEM Scholars Selected to Present at NSTA National Conference

14th March 2018

LOUISVILLE, KY (March 14, 2018) – The National Stem Cell Foundation (NSCF) announced today that 10 middle school science teachers participating in the prestigious National STEM Scholar Program have been selected to present at the NSTA (National Science Teacher Association) National Conference (March 15 – 18, 2018) in Atlanta, Georgia. The “National STEM Scholar Share-a-Thon” presented by the 2017 National STEM Scholar class will share hands-on, innovative middle school classroom projects, ideas and activities developed during the 2017 Scholar year. Bruce Boehne, a 2016 National Scholar from Zion Lutheran School in Dallas, Texas, has also been selected to present a Meet Me in the Middle Session talk called “Paper Pets: A Fun Way to Teach Genetics and Natural Selection” during the Conference.

A partnership between the National Stem Cell Foundation and The Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science at Western Kentucky University, the National STEM Scholar Program is a unique professional development program providing advanced training and network building for the teachers of aspiring middle school scientists nationwide. By “training the trainers,” the program seeks to inspire the next generation of STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) pioneers and innovators.

During an annual week-long program in June, National STEM Scholars engage in advanced hands-on science activities, connect with speakers and thought leaders in STEM education, train with skilled science educators and develop an individual Challenge Project for classroom implementation. Mentoring is provided throughout the year by Gatton Academy faculty.

National STEM Scholars share midpoint progress with their colleagues while attending the NSTA Annual Conference in March of their Scholar year. The conference draws more than 10,000 fellow science teachers, administrators, principals, curriculum developers and department chairs from across the U.S. All expenses, including travel costs, materials, mentoring and Challenge Project supplies are covered by a grant from the National Stem Cell Foundation.

The complete list of 2017 National STEM Scholars participating in the Share-a-Thon:
• Suzanne Banas, Miami, Florida – South Miami Middle Community School
• Kiki Contreras, Shoreline, Washington – The Evergreen School
• Katie Donlin, Byron, Minnesota – Byron Middle School
• Angela Gospodarek, Gorham, Maine – Gorham Middle School
• Jay Hollis, Bowling Green, Kentucky – Bowling Green Junior High
• John Lui, Dousman, Wisconsin – Kettle Moraine Middle School
• Emily McKernan, Brushton, New York – Brushton-Moira Central School
• Valerie Pumala, Cameron, Wisconsin – Cameron Middle School
• Donna Shartzer, Harned, Kentucky – Breckinridge County Middle School
• Dana Young, Hightstown, New Jersey – Melvin H. Kreps Middle School

For more information, follow the Scholars at #NSTA18 and #NSTA.

About the National Stem Cell Foundation
The National Stem Cell Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that funds adult stem cell and regenerative medicine research, connects children with limited resources to clinical trials for rare diseases and sponsors a scholarship program for middle school science teachers inspiring the next generation of STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) pioneers nationwide.